Research

The research at the Chair of Empirical Economics focuses on microeconometric methods applied to a variety of fields. Specifically, panel econometrics, count data methods, program evaluation methods and spatial econometrics are applied to empirically analyze questions of international trade, international taxation, international migration, public finance, multinational activity and labor market outcomes of trade.

Currently, we work on the following two externally funded projects:

Gravity and Unemployment: An Empirical Analysis of the Effects of Trade with Imperfect Labor Markets (financed by the German Research Foundation (DFG) under grant No. 592405)

This project aims at quantifying the effects of international trade in the presence of labor market imperfections within a structural gravity framework. Theoretical research suggests the connection between labor market imperfections and trade and shows that trade patterns, gross domestic product (GDP) and welfare will be linked. Whether trade liberalization is indeed desirable needs to be empirically evaluated accounting for imperfections on the labor market. A structural approach thereby allows a deeper insight into channels of trade liberalization as well as counterfactual analysis of policy interventions. However, up to now, empirical evaluations assumed perfect labor markets or relied on reduced form regressions. A structural empirical investigation between trade and labor markets has been neglected so far. Hence, the first stage of the project concentrates on the development of an empirical framework that allows for the evaluation of trade policies in the presence of imperfect labor markets. The following stages use and extend this framework in order to quantify the effects of trade integration. We plan to calculate trade, GDP and welfare effects for a cross-section of OECD countries. Extensions allowing for international migration and effects disentangled by sectors put further light on the micro-structural effects of trade liberalization.

Company Births and Deaths: Investigating the Role of Taxation (financed by the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) under grant No. RES-194-23-0012)

This research project aims to evaluate recent reforms to the rates of UK corporation tax. Specifically, it will focus on the impact of successive changes to the starting rate of corporation tax - which was introduced in 1999 at 10%, reduced to zero in 2002 and then abolished in 2006. The aim of the starting rate was to encourage the formation of small new companies which would exhibit entrepreneurial behaviour, which would help stimulate growth in the UK. However, the policy was eventually abandoned, possibly because it achieved more in inducing the shifting of income between the unincorporated and corporate sectors of the economy than in stimulating real economic activity.

However, to date, there have been no systematic attempts to analyse the effects of a low starting rate of corporation tax. This research project aims to address the following three questions.

1. Did the introduction, reduction to zero, and abolition of the starting corporation tax rate affect the rate of new company incorporations, and the rate of company dissolutions?

2. To what extent did newly-created corporations report taxable profits exactly at kink points in the tax rate schedule, such as at £10,000? To what extent did existing corporations follow the same strategy?

3. Is there evidence that companies created in response to the introduction and subsequent reduction in the starting rate undertook more or less investment than comparable existing companies?

In addition, we plan to identify whether the increased number of companies had a significant impact on corporation tax revenues. It is well known that revenues have not fallen as a proportion of GDP despite reductions in rates. To what extent was this due to an increase in the number of companies induced by changes to the starting rate of corporation tax?

To investigate these issues, we will make use of the population of confidential corporation tax return data, newly available at the HMRC Datalab. This allows us to investigate births and deaths of companies. We can also investigate the behaviour of new companies, and compare it to existing companies (as well as to make comparisons by size and sector). We have detailed and precise information on taxable profits, and how they are determined, including detailed information on capital allowances for investment. This unique dataset is therefore ideally suited to the analysis proposed.

 

Universität Bayreuth -

Forschung

Der Schwerpunkt der Forschung des Lehrstuhls für Empirische Wirtschaftsforschung liegt in der Anwendung mikroökonometrischer Methoden auf zahlreiche Forschungsfelder. Insbesondere werden Methoden der räumlichen und Paneldatenökonometrie, Zähldatenmodelle und Programmevaluationsverfahren verwendet, um Fragen des Außenhandels, der internationalen Migration und Besteuerung, der öffentlichen Finanzen, der multinationalen Unternehmenstätigkeit sowie der Arbeitsmarkteffekte des Außenhandels empirisch zu analysieren.

Zurzeit forschen wir in den beiden folgenden Drittmittelprojekten:

Gravitation mit Arbeitslosigkeit: Empirische Analyse der Wirkungen von Außenhandel bei imperfekten Arbeitsmärkten (finanziert durch die Deutsche Forschungsgesellschaft (DFG) unter dem Abrechnungsobjekt Nr. 592405)

Ziel dieses Projekts ist die Quantifizierung von Handelsliberalisierung bei imperfekten Arbeitsmärkten in einem strukturellen Gravitationsgleichungsmodell. Theoretische Arbeiten zeigen die Wechselwirkung zwischen Handel und imperfekten Arbeitsmärkten, besonders deren Wirkung auf die Handelsströme, das Bruttoinlandsprodukt (BIP), und die Wohlfahrt. Ob Handelsliberalisierung tatsächlich wünschenswert ist muss unter Berücksichtigung von Arbeitsmarktimperfektionen empirisch evaluiert werden. Ein struktureller Ansatz erlaubt dabei vertiefte Einsichten in die Kanäle der Handelsliberalisierung als auch Szenarienanalysen für Politikmaßnahmen. Bis jetzt wurde bei den empirischen Untersuchungen immer von perfekten Arbeitsmärkten ausgegangen oder reduzierte Gleichungen geschätzt. Die strukturelle Schätzung der Interaktionen von Handel und Arbeitsmärkten hingegen wurde vernachlässigt. Der erste Schritt im Projekt ist daher die Entwicklung eines empirischen Modells, das die Analyse von Handelsliberalisierung bei imperfekten Arbeitsmärkten ermöglicht. Nachfolgende Teilprojekte verwenden und erweitern dieses Modell, um die Effekte der Handelsintegration zu quantifizieren. Wir planen Handelsströme, BIP und die Wohlfahrt für einen Querschnitt von OECD-Ländern zu berechnen. Erweiterungen erlauben für internationale Migration und zerlegen die Effekte auf Industrieebene, um Einblick in die mikrostrukturellen Effekte von Handelsliberalisierung zu gewinnen.

Firmenneugründungen und -auflösungen: Eine Analyse der Rolle von Steuern (finanziert durch den Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) unter dem Abrechungsobjekt Nr. RES-194-23-0012)

Ziel des Forschungsprojekts ist es, die jüngste Körperschaftssteuerreform in Großbritannien zu evaluieren. Im Besonderen untersucht das Projekt den Einfluss der Änderungen im Eingangssteuersatz, welcher 1999 10% betrug, 2002 auf 0% gesenkt und 2006 abgeschafft wurde. Ziel des Eingangssteuersatzes war es, die Gründung neuer Unternehmen zu fördern, deren Innovationsgeist dabei helfen sollte, das Wirtschaftswachstum in Großbritannien zu stimulieren. Schließlich wurde diese Steuerpolitik eingestellt, da sie womöglich mehr dazu beitrug, Einkommen zwischen Aktien- und Personengesellschaften zu verschieben als realökonomische Aktivität zu fördern.

Bisher existierten keine systematischen Versuche, die Auswirkungen des niedrigen Eingangssteuersatzes zu untersuchen. Mit dem Forschungsprojekt beabsichtigen wir, die folgenden drei Fragen zu beantworten.

1. Führte die Einführung, Senkung und Abschaffung des Eingangssteuersatzes zu Veränderungen der Zahl von Firmenneugründungen und -auflösungen?

2. In welchem Ausmaß beobachten wir, dass neu gegründete Firmen Gewinne von genau den  Schwellenwerten (z.B. £10,000) ausweisen? Folgten bereits etablierte Firmen derselben Strategie?

3. Gibt es Hinweise darauf, dass in Reaktion auf die Einführung und folgende Reduktion des Eingangssteuersatzes neu gegründete Firmen mehr oder weniger investierten als etablierte Firmen?

Darüber hinaus versuchen wir zu analysieren, ob die höhere Anzahl an Firmen signifikante Auswirkungen auf die Körperschaftssteuereinnahmen hatte. Es ist bekannt, dass trotz der Verringerung des Steuersatzes die Steuereinnahmen im Verhältnis zum Bruttoinlandsprodukt nicht gefallen sind. In welchem Maße ist diese Tatsache der höheren Anzahl von Firmen aufgrund der Änderungen des Eingangssteuersatzes geschuldet?

Um diese Fragen zu beantworten, nutzen wir einen neuen Datensatz von Körperschaftssteuererklärungen des HMRC Datalab. Dieser Datensatz erlaubt uns, Veränderungen in der Zahl von Firmenneugründungen und -auflösungen zu analysieren. Außerdem können wir das Verhalten neuer Firmen untersuchen und es mit dem etablierter Firmen vergleichen. Wir besitzen detaillierte und präzise Informationen über Höhe und Herkunft der zu versteuernden Gewinne, einschließlich Daten zu den steuerlichen Abschreibungen von Investitionen. Dadurch ist dieser Datensatz ist für unsere Analyse hervorragend geeignet.

 

Universität Bayreuth -